Book Clubs

Word of Mouth: Small Great Things

WOM will meet to discuss Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult.

Staff Pick Badge
Small Great Things: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780345544971
Availability: Available in our warehouse. Ships in 2 - 3 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - February 20th, 2018

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • With richly layered characters and a gripping moral dilemma that will lead readers to question everything they know about privilege, power, and race, Small Great Things is the stunning new page-turner from Jodi Picoult.

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE


Event address: 
43455 Kavanaugh Road
Cable, WI 54821

Men's Discussion Group: Sophie's Choice

The men will meet to discuss Sophie's Choice by William Styron.

Sophie's Choice (Vintage International) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780679736370
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - March 3rd, 1992

Three stories are told: a young Southerner wants to become a writer; a turbulent love-hate affair between a brilliant Jew and a beautiful Polish woman; and of an awful wound in that woman's past--one that impels both Sophie and Nathan toward destruction.


Event address: 
43455 Kavanaugh Road
Cable, WI 54821

1001: The Selected Stories of Anton Chekhov

1001 will meet to discuss The Selected Stories of Anton Chekhov.

Staff Pick Badge
Selected Stories of Anton Chekhov (Modern Library Classics) Cover Image
By Anton Chekhov, Richard Pevear (Translated by), Larissa Volokhonsky (Translated by), Richard Pevear (Introduction by)
$18.00
ISBN: 9780553381009
Availability: Available in our warehouse. Ships in 2 - 3 Days
Published: Modern Library - October 31st, 2000

Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky, the highly acclaimed translators of War and Peace, Doctor Zhivago, and Anna Karenina, which was an Oprah Book Club pick and million-copy bestseller, bring their unmatched talents to The Selected Stories of Anton Chekhov, a collection of thirty of Chekhov’s best tales from the major periods of his creative life.
 


Event address: 

Chapter & Verse Book Club: Children of Blood and Bone, Brazen, and Picture Us in the Light

This month begins our annual Mock ALSC Awards discussions. In September, we'll discuss possible Printz Award contenders, the books for teens. Remember, you only need to read one of the books, but if you'd like to read more, your group's discussion will have more depth. Also remember, bring other books (or a list of books) that you think might be awarded the Printz this year. Share the books with your group and have a good conversation!

Staff Pick Badge
Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250170972
Availability: Available in our warehouse. Ships in 2 - 3 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 6th, 2018

Instant New York Times Bestseller
New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018
TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018
NPR's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List
Buzzfeed's 24 Best YA Books of 2018
Bustle's Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 2018
2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist


Staff Pick Badge
Brazen: Rebel Ladies Who Rocked the World Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626728691
Availability: Available in our warehouse. Ships in 2 - 3 Days
Published: First Second - March 6th, 2018

2019 Eisner Award Winner for Best U.S. Edition of International Material

Throughout history and across the globe, one characteristic connects the daring women of Brazen: their indomitable spirit.


Staff Pick Badge
Picture Us In The Light Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781484726020
Availability: Available in our warehouse. Ships in 2 - 3 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 10th, 2018

"Picture me madly in love with this moving, tender, unapologetically honest book."
-Becky Albertalli, #1 best-selling author of Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda


Event address: 
43455 Kavanaugh Road
Cable, WI 54821

Get a Clue! Mystery Book Club: Windigo Island and Nancy Drew

Get a Clue! will meet to discuss Windigo Island by William Kent Krueger and we'll also read a Nancy Drew of our choosing to present to the group.

Staff Pick Badge
Windigo Island: A Novel (Cork O'Connor Mystery Series #14) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781476749242
Availability: Available in our warehouse. Ships in 2 - 3 Days
Published: Atria Books - May 19th, 2015

Cork O’Connor battles vicious villains, both mythical and modern, to rescue a young girl in this riveting mystery from New York Times bestselling, Edgar Award–winning author William Kent Krueger.

When the body of a teenage Ojibwe girl washes up on the shore of an island in Lake Superior, the residents of the nearby Bad Bluff reservation whisper that it was the work of a d


Event address: 
13450 County Rd M
Forest Lodge Library
Cable, WI 54821

Chapter & Verse Book Club: Lights, Camera, Middle School! and Awkward

This month, we're discussing Lights, Camera, Middle School!, by Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm, in which Baby Mouse goes to middle school, and Awkward by Svetlana Chmakkova, also set in middle school. Bring your favorite middle school graphic novels to recommend.

Staff Pick Badge
Lights, Camera, Middle School! (Babymouse Tales from the Locker #1) Cover Image
By Jennifer L. Holm, Matthew Holm (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9780399554384
Availability: Available in our warehouse. Ships in 2 - 3 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - July 4th, 2017

It’s a new kind of book for Babymouse! Fans of Dork Diaries, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and James Patterson’s Middle School books, this is going to be epic. . . .
 


Staff Pick Badge
Awkward (Berrybrook Middle School #1) Cover Image
$11.00
ISBN: 9780316381307
Availability: Available in our warehouse. Ships in 2 - 3 Days
Published: JY - July 21st, 2015

Cardinal rule #1 for surviving school: Don't get noticed by the mean kids.

Cardinal rule #2 for surviving school: Seek out groups with similar interests and join them.


Event address: 
Cable UCC Church
13445 Co Hwy M
Cable, WI 54821

Word of Mouth Book Club: Pachinko

Word of Mouth will meet to discuss Pachinko by Min Jin Lee.

Staff Pick Badge
Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781455563920
Availability: Available in our warehouse. Ships in 2 - 3 Days
Published: Grand Central Publishing - November 14th, 2017

A New York Times Top Ten Book of the Year and National Book Award finalist, Pachinko is an "extraordinary epic" of four generations of a poor Korean immigrant family as they fight to control their destiny in 20th-century Japan (San Francisco Chronicle).


Event address: 
43455 Kavanaugh Road
Cable, WI 54821

THURS Book Club:The German Girl

THURS will meet to discuss The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa.

Staff Pick Badge
The German Girl: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501121234
Availability: Available in our warehouse. Ships in 2 - 3 Days
Published: Washington Square Press - August 8th, 2017

AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

Featured in Entertainment Weekly, People, The Millions, and USA TODAY

“An unforgettable and resplendent novel which will take its place among the great historical fiction written about World War II.” —Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker's Wife

A young


Event address: 
43455 Kavanaugh Road
Cable, WI 54821

THURS Book Club: Leopard at the Door

THURS will meet to discuss Leopard at the Door by Jennifer McVeigh.

Staff Pick Badge
Leopard at the Door Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780735210387
Availability: Available in our warehouse. Ships in 2 - 3 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - October 3rd, 2017

Set in Kenya in the 1950s against the fading backdrop of the British Empire, a story of self-discovery, betrayal, and an impossible love from the author of The Fever Tree.
 


Event address: 
43455 Kavanaugh Road
Cable, WI 54821

Pages